Central Pacific Area

This region includes the province of Puntarenas the cantons of: Puntarenas, Esparza, Montes de Oro, Aguirre, Parrita and Garabito. From the province of Alajuela: San Mateo and Orotina.

To the northeast with the Río Abangares, to the southeast: with the Río Barú, to the east with the Sierra de Tilarán or Minera, Cerros de Herradura and Foothills of the Cordillera de Talamanca, and to the west with the Pacific Ocean.

The Southeast of the Nicoya Peninsula is isolated hills of up to 800 meters. Tall. From the Abangares River to the Cerros de Herradura are plains in the eastern region of the Gulf of Nicoya. From Herradura to the Barú river are marine terraces with wide river valleys such as the Tárcoles River. The hills of Herradura, the Brunqueño system, and the foothills of Talamanca, such as Bustamante and Turrubares form the mountainous part, many of these systems reach the coast forming cliffs.

The central zone is characterized by the production of basic grains and beef cattle; also the industry of oils, margarines, fertilizers, food products, packing plants, small shipyards, fishing, etc. Within the main cities are, Quepos, with its beautiful beaches, and Puntarenas, a center for health, financial, cultural, communications, etc. services. and Caldera, one of the main ports.


In the plains, the climate is hot and temperate in the mountainous parts. In terms of rainfall, it is a transition zone between the North Pacific, which is dry, and the South Pacific, which is rainier.

This area presents a transition between the dry tropical forest and the humid tropical forest, where the Carara and Manuel Antonio national parks are some of its main natural attractions.

Taboga Forest Reserve, Negritos-Guayabo and Pajaros Islands Biological Reserves, Cabo Blanco Absolute Natural Reserve, Tivives Protected Zone, Carara Biological Reserve, Cerros de Turrubares Protected Zone, La Cangreja Protected Zone, Manuel Antonio National Park, Hacienda Barú Nature Reserve.